Seattle Surgical Society Lifetime Community Service Award

In 2020, the Seattle Surgical Society created a “Lifetime Community Service Award” to recognize and honor a health care provider who has made substantial life-long contributions in service to the health and well-being of the citizens of the Pacific Northwest. While there are no specific qualifying criteria, the essence of the award is to recognize individuals who have spent the majority of their professional life in the State of Washington, have demonstrated excellence in clinical practice, education, research and / or administration, and have been recognized as an effective leader, educator, mentor or innovator.

Nominations will be solicited from the membership of the Seattle Surgical Society and presented to the Board of Directors for consideration and vote.  The 2024 Seattle Surgical Society Lifetime Service Award will be presented at the Annual Meeting Dinner on February 2, 2024.

Nominations close on November 30, 2023.



2021 Michael Copass, MD

2022 Lorrie Langdale, MD

2023 John Ryan, MD

Please contact Dr. Tom Biehl at for more information.
For admin support, please contact our office at 206-794-9124 or send an email to